Xi- Alpha, Truman State University

National History

In the early spring semester of 1986 at the University of Iowa, Baltazar Mendoza-Madrigal a member of Phi Beta Sigma fraternity, wanted to further expand the possibility of a Latino-based organization with multicultural membership that would grow just as notable. The purpose of creating such an organization came from the social and cultural dynamics at the time. Minorities on campus were under represented and lacked interaction amongst each other. Thus, Mendoza along with seventeen other men began to explore the idea of establishing a Latino-based fraternity in order to unify all under represented minorities and to promote cultural understanding along with academic excellence.

The men met officially on March 7, 1986 with some of the Latino students at the University of Iowa.

On April 4, 1986, the members finalized the philosophy of the organization and the eighteen men who came to study in the US from Latin America, Africa & Asia became the eighteen Founding Fathers of Sigma Lambda Beta. They were inducted as brothers at the university’s Danforth Chapel with the following principles in mind: brotherhood, scholarship, community service and cultural awareness.

Founding Fathers

This picture contains 13 of the 18 Founding Fathers of Sigma Lambda Beta.
  • Baltazar Mendoza-Madrigal
  • Thomas Carrasquillo
  • Manuel Chavarria
  • Luis Jimenez
  • Luis Marquez
  • Mario Buendia
  • Enrique Carbajal
  • Rudolfo Garza
  • Jose Fong
  • Eric Montes
  • Olakunle Oyeyemi
  • Kuy Ou
  • Jaime Ramirez
  • Olivero Rivera
  • Juan Jose Rojas Cardona
  • Eugenio Soria
  • Juan Valdez
  • Ricardo Zamudio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.